Social Life + IB = impossible?

FeralKid

I have noticed that it is really hard to maintain an healthy social life and IB grades high,

most of the people undergoing the second year of IB that have impressive scores do not go out and the only company they have good are our dear books.

Now do you find impossible to have a social life and good IB scores? Would you give up one of them?

In my opinion is useless to get a 45 & at the same time have "wasted" what can be considered the best years of our lives..

Lately i am indeed, struggling between school, boyfriend and friends, however i can confess i am a proud(? maybe not that much) 5iver/6er and i will never give up my happy party life for the IB (yes i am a horribly disappointing IB student)..

what do you think? any experience to share :P?

:)

• Like 3

I guess it depends on how much you have on top of the IB; for example, extra curricular activities, team sports, part time job, etc. If you have those plus the IB and want good grades, I'd say it is pretty impossible to be able to go on frequent outings with friends. It also depends on how good your teachers are....for one of my hardest classes the teacher is not so good, so basically everyone has to teach themselves everything, which does take a fair chunk of time.

• Like 3

It's definitely possible to do normal stuff on top of IB without cutting that much - if being in IB means that you can't have friends or date then you're doing something wrong. It's all about time management; if you start your EE two days before it's due you won't have much time for social life but if you've actually organised your time well you can sit back and relax while others are panicking :)

• Like 3