English EE on Philip Pullman's His Dark Materials Series?

Clark Kent

Hey guys. I'm deciding on a topic and research question for my English A1 EE. I'm in my 2nd year of IB and am currently in the middle of my summer holidays, so i figured i should get a start on my EE.

Basically i've talked to my supervisor about authors and when I brought up Pullman she actually thought it was a good idea and since there weren't many other authors I was interested in writing on, I decided to stick with it. Firstly, is this a good idea writing on modern, fantasy literature? Like do examiners tend to dislike this type of EE, do they prefer more traditional, older, more literature-renowned works?

For the topic on Pullman's series, i'm mainly intrigued by the religious aspect of the series, and think it would be interesting for me to write about and for others to read if i was able to do a good enough job. So far i've thought of "the treatment of religion in Pullman's series", which i decided was way too vague. So i came up with "to what extent can Pullman's series be considered an anti-Christian work?".

I'm not entirely sure if these questions sound stupid or if there are other better research questions and topics out there. I know i should consult my supervisor but the trouble is its summer holidays and the school emails currently down, and i want to get started on this while im still motivated, so any help would be appreciated. Let me know if u need any more details. Please help me out. Thanks a bunch :)

dan

• Like 1

This all sounds good. A lot of people will go for the more traditional classic/set-texts to write on - but that's not necessarily a good idea, since, by definition, a lot of (other) people must be doing so too. Better to be original and new, not rely too much on secondary sources, refer closely to the text etc. All well and good with Pullman, who is quite a literary author despite his intended audience.