Is IB Math SL a subset of Math HL or are they exclusive?

ansuman

I gather from ibo.org that Math Studies SL, Math SL and Math HL are available. I am doing my Master of Computer Applications and need to purchase some High School math textbooks from an international book fair in India. I wish to read western authors. My question is, is Math SL a subset of Math HL, i.e. if I am going to buy Math HL books do I also need Math SL assuming I've read neither or equivalent? Also what's Further Math, I didn't find it in some ibo documents? And can you suggest some widely available authors of Math IB SL/HL - great books that don't have typos? Long lists are welcome

Thanks and regards,

Stranger Crimson

Hi,

First of all, Further Mathematics SL is a separate Mathematics subject that is studied usually in addition to Mathematics HL. It consists of all the extension topics of Mathematics HL. In other words, in Further Mathematics SL, you do all extension topics available in the Mathematics HL syllabus instead of doing just one.

As for Mathematics SL being a subset of Mathematics HL, I am unable to answer 100% certainly, but I believe it is, as some schools teach the SL Core material together with HL and SL students and then have HL lessons separately. The main difference between the two subjects is that questions in Mathematics HL are significantly more difficult than in Mathematics SL. Furthermore, Mathematics HL contains formal proof of mathematical theories, whereas Mathematics SL only requires informal proof.

If you want a Math HL/SL book that does not have typos, don't get the IBID book - it's full of them. Instead, I recommend "Mathematics Standard Level for the IB Diploma" (Oxford University Press) by Robert Smedley et al. This is a book designed specifically for the SL course. The book is also published in another form (older edition) by the name "Introducing Pure Mathematics".