SL to Studies

chanendelerbong

Hi!

I'm in my 2nd year of IB and I'm thinking about the possibility of dropping from Maths SL to Studies.

I feel that I'm struggling with SL especially with calculus and circular trig but I kinda don't want to drop to Studies as I don't really know what I want to do in Uni and not limit myself.

So I was wondering if anyone has an opinion on this and could help me out?

Thanks.

• Like 1

Although people drop from HL to SL all the time, it's much weirder to drop from SL to Studies.

It's because the Studies syllabus is completely different from the SL material. While HL contains SL, there is no Studies material in SL. However, seeing as you've made it into the second year, I think you would have to cram a lot between now and your exam if you chose to drop to Studies. It's not that it's hard per se (it's Math Studies! The easiest Math course) but it's actually a lot to cram.

But, in my opinion, you should stick to Math SL. If you haven't had any previous troubles than what you are facing now, then just get some extra tutoring and even ask the teacher for help. If anything, switching to Studies will look bad on your college applications and all that jazz.

• Like 1

Hi!

I'm in my 2nd year of IB and I'm thinking about the possibility of dropping from Maths SL to Studies.

I feel that I'm struggling with SL especially with calculus and circular trig but I kinda don't want to drop to Studies as I don't really know what I want to do in Uni and not limit myself.

So I was wondering if anyone has an opinion on this and could help me out?

Thanks.

Hi,