IB math studies

Guest Fuzzerker

Guest Fuzzerker

What kind of math will I be doing in this class. I have signed up for it for next year. I was just wondering because I am absolutely terrible at math, but I am caught between a rock and a hard place because I took pre calc this year, so next year I can choose between AP statistics, probability (this is a total BS class and would look lame for me to take senior year), or AP Calculus (yeah right). So im pretty much deciding between AP stats and Ib math studies

I'm taking the math studies exam this year. I don't what will be on it, so I am a curious as to some sample problems. However, I can tell you what my class is doing.

First of all, since high school, I've been a mediocre math student. I was horrible at geometry, decent at Algebra I and II, and okay at precal (good at some things, bad at other things). When signing up for my current courses, I could choose between a course called discrete math and AP calculus (which also would be good for IB Mathematics). I knew I wouldn't be good at calculus, but at the same time, I previously had had the discrete teacher for geometry, and even though I am bad at geometry, he made it even worse. Not because he was a mean guy or even a bad teacher, but because his tests included extremely difficult problems, even for good geometry students. However, I ended up sticking with discrete, and I couldn't be happier. First of all, everyone who's taking calculus hates it, and secondly, I have excelled in it for the most part. But enough about me. I should tell you about the course.