Is Maths Studies enough for me to enter uni?

Vaon

Would maths studies allow me to get into an Australian University such as "Queensland University of Technology" or "University of Queensland"? I want to do international business, maybe even deans honours (you need an OP 2 or rank of 98 for deans honours), but I am wondering if Maths Studies would allow me to get into those courses (mainly deans honours)

I am not very good at mathematics, and I don't see how calculus and trigonometry would be useful for international business.

Plus, I heard that you can't get into university with maths studies from a teacher? On the website it says English is all you need, and maths A, B, or C.

You can get into university with Maths Studies. Call up your university and ask if you can get into your chosen course with Maths Studies. You'll be fine with your chosen course. Keep in mind that if you ever change your mind, you may be limited by doing Maths studies (eg no engineering, economics, etc)

Edited by timtamboy63
  • Like 1

I'd advise you to take maths SL. as said, maths studies limits you. You might want to change your coarse later on and with maths studies, it will be hard doing that. I am not good at maths either,,or at least thats what i used to believe. You dont have enjoy maths in order to do well in it. all it needs is a change of attitude. thats what i did and now i can say that i always get 7's and im close to top f the class. just do lots of maths questions,practise,practise,practise, simple as that!! :)

• Like 1

• 9 months later...

Sadly, unless you are doing engineering, studies is effectively the same as SL, very unfair in my opinion... there is no English Studies SL or History Studies SL why should maths be any different?!?

but places like Canada, you can apply for engineering if you have math SL and not HL. The only place which requires math HL is UK for engineering...