How to prepare for Math HL?

Oskar Birol

Hey! I'm starting IB this fall, and I've chosen Math HL. It's hard - I'm aware - So how do you prepare? As some of you might know, Swedish math education is.. rubbish.. (sadly that's the only education I've had) Thus I hope to improve my skills before IB starts.

A good first year student told me that if anything, I should try to start with and getting an understanding of calculus. He also told me about KhanAcademy as I had heard of before. So today I went in there, and I found myself confused about the two different categories; PreCalculus & Calculus. (I've never studied calculus nor do I know anything about it, so i'm sorry if this sounds dumb, but,) am I supposed to start off with PreCalculus?

If you have any other tips that'd be great!

Guest itskanaya

Hey! i've been doing IB for six months now and yes it is challenging, it's a lifestyle. I warn you, IB allumni will not make it easy for you. I'm doing Math HL and the trick is you should do some math every night. the topic you have learnt and overview of the next one. Secondly, you better love it. Many are in it for the ego, they dont survive. Believe in yourself and that 7 will not be shy. Welcome to IB Oskar

• Like 2

Hello there! Since I'm tired of doing my maths homework - this is what happens when you do Maths HL - you stay up until 11 during your school holidays to finish off a few questions on complex numbers :) - I thought I'd leave a reply here. I have to admit I didn't like maths very much pre-IB, but I guess I chose it because I am fairly good at maths and it sounded like a challenge that was interesting enough to engage me during class, as opposed to something more pedestrian like SL or studies.

I'm finding that I'm liking Maths HL, which probably sounds frightening. It's quite fun... And the answers are pretty black and white, no debate over the answers unless the textbook answers are wrong again (which happens a lot to our class).