I am suicidal. I am an IB student from Vietnam, and this is my second year in the program. My classmates and I will be taking the exams very soon in May of 2013. Ever since I joined the IB, I felt a certain state of dull nerves, one might say, that have continued for nearly a year and a half now. I joined the IB never fully realizing the academic and social pressures that it entails, and the amount of stress, pressure, and expectations was too much for me to handle. I broke down. I constantly have feelings of guilt, helplessness, and sadness, and thoughts of suicide have crossed my mind. I self-medicate myself through the Internet and computer games, the few personal hobbies I have, but like any other activities that I used to enjoy, I'm not enjoying them as much anymore. I also feel that I'm distancing myself away from my peers and teachers, and most of the time I find myself alone contemplating on feelings of agonizing emotional pain.

I want some opinion about this issue, anything at all, including tips, experiences, ways of coping, etc. I feel that I need people who have knowledge and/or experience of depression; I want someone that could understand my pain.

I think it's really important to realise that the IB is just two letters. Don't let it affect you so much. Are you any under some kind of pressure from peers? or parents? or your own self-expectations? Just try your best to realise that all this is not worth it. Your personality is not determined by the grades you get in the IB. We're all just 17/18 now. Just get this belief away from your head that the IB is everything.

Besides, life is awesome. I think the reason you don't enjoy stuff you used to like, is you think about work and stuff when you're actually doing it. It happened to me as well. Just relax. Meditate every night if you need to. You'll be fine :)

• Like 3