Why is Rap music censored?

Luka Petrovic

Either buying on iTunes or a physical album, we've seen the infamous "Parental advisory. explicit content" labels. The commonly cited reason for this, and the reasons that helped this legislation pass in court was the immoral and derogatory language. Ultimately the question is, is this the only reason? Rap being a huge part of an american sub-culture some would say has to plays a role. As 2pac once said...

"They tryin to keep me out

Try to censor what I say

cause they don't like what I'm talkin bout

So what's wrong with the media today?"

~Tupac

Edited by Luka Petrovic

I'm not a music expert, but I'd say if the profane language isn't the only reason, it's probably the most important reason, as the unique language in some rap music is the one thing that sets it apart from other music that isn't censored. If you think about it, the language is the only thing that would make music censored. Have you ever heard of music without lyrics being censored?

The language in music gives rise to ideas that influence whomever is listening. The reason why some rap music is censored (and perhaps other music in general) isn't really because of the language itself, it is the influence language has on the audience. Younger audiences tend to misinterpret or misunderstand what artists are actually expressing, and instead only taking in the words and profanity(and who knows what this might lead to in the future). Such a result isn't really desirable in a society, hence censorship is placed.