Help grading SAT essays?

pwoperfish

I'm doing the SAT in December and I've been practicing for a few months. But until a week ago, I had completely forgotten about the essay! I'm not going to classes or getting coached so I need someone to grade my essays and give me feedback, because I really need the help. I have just over 2 weeks left and I really need to practice a lot because I'm not good at writing very concise, thoughtful essays in a short amount of time. If anyone could help me out, just send me a message. Thanks!

Guest Lognarithm

Main piece of advice: Even if you don't write well, FILL UP THE TWO PAGES! That will actually guarantee you a higher score, probably a 9 or above. Then it's just worrying about structure (did you plan it well), content (some good vocab, counter-points, support for your argument) and being consistent. You can realistically get at least a 10 if you fill up the two pages you get and have a somewhat organized essay with a refute to a counterargument.

Thanks for that! I have one question though- is it true that the SAT graders prefer it when you have examples from history in your essay? I've never been interested in politics and I haven't taken history as a subject for 4 years now, so there's no way I can write about those! I'm more of a personal-experience person, with the occasional reference from literature.

Also, I've read a few sample essays on the net and everyone seems to be using very 'grown-up' words. I prefer writing in simple language (and most of the time I write in a very colloquial style- I'll try not to do that for the SAT though), so will that effect my score as well?
The good thing is that my spellings are hardly ever wrong and I like to think my grammar is fine most of the time. I also have a good imagination so I can make up 'experiences' on the spot. XD

Guest Lognarithm