Continuing IB in new school

hellorainchan

Hi guys happy new year! I'm quite enjoying my first year of IB but the problem is my parents are going to move to another country in next school year (during my last year of IB which is sad). Well I don't know how this IB transferring system works but my only concern is about my IB courses. I haven't picked the school yet but my parents already have a list of international schools. From what I see based on my research, some courses that I take in my current school doesn't offered in the new school. For example I'm taking Econ HL and most of the school from the list doesn't have it or only offer in SL. My IB coordinator suggest to change subject from Econ to self-taught language because that is the only subject that I can change in the middle of IB. She also told me that if I change Econ HL -> Thai Self taught SL but learn HL materials from a tutor in this semester then I can be able to take Thai A HL in the new school. I think this option seems iffy because I don't know where to find a tutor D: What if I continuing taking Econ and the school that I go doesn't offer Econ? then do I have to pick a new subject or just continuing ib with only 5 subjects? I don't know... conflicts. Anyway, does anyone here have same problem like me or does anyone here transfer to a new school in a middle of IB before? Actually I don't want to give up IB even though I can't use IB score in my dream university but if this is the worst case then I guess I might go to American curriculum international school. D: Thank you!

I went through the exact same problem last year.

I had History SL and had to switch to Business and Management HL.