subject selection- lang and lit HL or math HL?

corlisschan1203

I am interested in pursuing economics/politics/political economy/international relations/global studies in university.

here are my proposed IB options:

Economics HL

History HL

Math HL

Chinese A Lang & Lit SL

English A Lang & Lit SL

ESS SL

I am studying Additional Mathematics and Extended Mathematics for IGCSE now, and doing okay, predicted A for former and A* for latter. But is Additional Mathematics a big jump to Math HL? :( Do you need to be smart and very capable in math to get at least 6?

Really worried now especially I have heard Math HL and History HL have tremendous amounts of workload.

Would love some advice please :)

If you get an A in add math you should be just fine for math hl. However Math hl is a very very challenging course and I would recommend studying during the summer for it. The problem with both math hl and history hl is that there is so much to cover and not enough time so the pace is really past. You do need to put in a lot of your own time. Hope this helps :)

Hey! I think that Maths HL is by no means impossible to get a 6 in. As Maple mentioned above, hard work is ultimately the determining factor in success rather than innate talent, and definitely more than in any IB subject. Though I would say that having natural aptitude in maths definitely makes it easier to motivate yourself to study! I can't speak on the comparison between IGCSE maths and IB maths, but the reality is that most pre-IB maths courses don't really prepare you for the intensity and difficulty of Maths HL - though I have heard that the maths syllabi of some Asian nations makes Maths HL look easy by comparison. :)