I need help picking a language!

Guest NapWar

Guest NapWar

Hey guys, so I have 3 options for my language other than English (I'll be doing A Lit).

1) I can either self teach myself my mother tongue, Dhivehi, at first language level (the school I will go to facilitates that it seems).

2) I could do French B

3) I could do Mandarin a.b.

I'm not sure what to go with, and I was hoping you guys could advise me. I feel like ruling out the self taught option because being the only one studying it in my school and by myself, it seems boring. But at the same time it'd let me obtain the bilingual diploma. Is it worth more than a regular diploma? Are self-taught courses viewed well? The main problem is it doesn't seem as useful to have a qualification for a language mainly spoken in just one country. =/

I've always found French an interesting language and it's been easy to learn. I enjoy the culture too. I have lots of resources to improve it as well. And understanding of the language is pretty wide spread. Mandarin is useful to have too, but this seems to apply mostly to the East Asian region for now. It's probably going to grow and become much more important in the future though, so maybe I shouldn't pass up on the opportunity to study it? Is having a language at B level superior to a.b.?

I'm having trouble deciding, so what do you guys think?

A bilingual diploma doesn't really offer any additional benefits. It might look slightly more impressive to some people, but it's not going to adversely affect you if you don't do it. If you feel like you don't have the motivation to do a self-taught subject, I wouldn't do it.