Starting preIB

Maribell

Hey guys.

I'm a total newbie here, please don't kill me, 'kay?

Oh, and also (as you will notice) english is not my mother tongue and I'm currently only studying english 2h a week (no more is sadly scheduled or required in swedish middle school).

Today I got my preliminary acceptance information (uh the Swedish langugage have a special word for it) and I got preliminary accepted to the IB. That means that I will be attending because I will better grades this semester + they have already taken my entrance tests in consideration.

Now, because the Swedish school is really lacking compared to international schools, I want to prepare a lot for the IBDP. In Sweden it's required to attend preIB, then the real ****. What can I do now to prepare for both preIB and year 1 and year 2? I found this book list here, are IB students required to read all those books? Because then I'll need to visit the local library tomorrow and start reading, lol.

Also, can you help with finding material online? Like course work, what we will be doing in class, things that I need to know and so on.

And, do anyone know if I can start with CAS in preIB or if I've have to wait until year 1?

Thanks,

Bella

Hi,

Don't worry about your English, it's awesome, especially if you only have two lessons a week! :)

I'm not completely sure what 'Pre IB' is- they do it in the US but not in the UK so I might be of limited help but I'll do my best.

It really does depend what courses you want to do though- do you have any ideas yet?

Koura

• Like 1

Oh, well, thanks!

pre-IB is some kind of prep where I'll have to study some courses that is requierd for Swedish high school students but in english.

The school I'm attending is offering following:

1. Language A – HL and SL
English A Literature, English A Literature and Language, Swedish A Literature and Language, Self-Taught A Literature SL only

2. Second Language – HL and SL
English B, French B, Spanish A, Spanish B, Swedish B,