Terrified About Failing Spanish

Hi,

I'm studying Spanish Ab Initio, and I'm just coming to the end of the first year of the IB.

My problem is that I don't really feel like I've learnt nearly enough Spanish to do well in my exams next year. I've started using Duolingo, but it seems to be a ridiculously slow process and it doesn't cover everything I need to do. The other people in my class seem to pick up the spanish much faster than I do, and I feel like I'm getting left behind.

Is there anything I can do to catch up on my Spanish and make sure I'm working towards doing well in my exams next year? I'd like a 6 if possible, but at the moment that feels like a very long way off!

Thanks,

Joe

Well that was me a year ago and it's still me now that the Spanish ab inito exam is in 2 more days....lol

Some people (including me) are just slow learners...but don't worry you have a whole year to catch up!

I'd recommend getting used to different resources in Spanish. For e.g. watch movies in spanish, read spanish articles etc. Create a vocab list maybe? Just try to get familiar with the terminology. Eventually you'll get the hang of it, I can assure you that.

In terms of practicing the grammar, this is the best website I can recommend. http://www.languagesonline.org.uk/

In a nutshell, you need to get familiar with Spanish as much as possible. Perhaps try to incorporate it in your day-to-day conversations with friends that know Spanish?

Lastly, you should talk to your Spanish teacher about this issue. He might try a different approach to teaching you in particular.

• Like 1

Hi, I take Spanish HL but really struggled at the beginning as I'm not a native speaker and I didn't have much confidence for the first year of IB, especially in my speaking assessments.