my IB grade is terrible compared to my predicted grade

I'm a student studying in Asia.

3 years ago, my TOEFL score was about 100, and I have HSK 6 degree and my GPA is about 3.97/4.00

I got a conditional offers from Newcastle, Exeter, York, QMUL which demand around 36s in actual exam.

My predicted grade was around 38 but my actual IB grade is 27. (I was shocked when I checked it)

Should I retake my IB exam? I'm afraid I'll get even lower mark.

Btw, my ib subject was English A Lang Lit SL, Chinese B HL, Japanese A HL, History HL, Biology HL and Math Methods SL.

Well, it depends on a number of factors.

Firstly, why was your actual IB grades so much lower than your predicted grades? Did your IAs get moderated down a lot, did you not prepare well for the exams, was it one subject that dropped a lot, or all of your subjects that dropped a grade or two? Have you taken a look at your breakdowns to see if there's any subject where you could possibly get a remark?

Secondly, what are your future plans? What course/degree do you want to study? How much do you want to go to the unis where you got conditional offers from? Did you apply to any other universities where you can get in with your score of 27?

There's no point retaking your IB exam unless you are mildly confident you will do better in it, and you really need/want a higher score. Hope this helps :)

• Like 5

With all these UCAS conditional offers, the first thing you should be considering if you've missed your offer is calling up these universities, explaining your situation, and seeing if they're still willing to admit you. There is often some leeway if you're off by a few marks, but I get that in your case the difference is quite big. Still, it's worth trying - international students are a good catch finance-wise because of all the tuition fees they have to pay. Otherwise, I don't think I have any other advice that bluedino hasn't already given!