Can't Take English & Math HL - Advice?

JamesJ

Hi, I was wondering if anyone had advice for my rather horrid situation. At my school, apparently, the schedule for I.B. is set up in such a way that students can't take HL Math and English - apparently "nobody likes both Math and English". However, those are really the only two subjects I have any skill in. Does anyone know if it would be better to just skip I.B. (as I can't think of a third HL instead of English) or suffer through an extra HL?

Thank you very much. Sorry if this doesn't make a whole lot of sense, I'm a bit new to I.B.

(Basically: is it worth it to pay the 400$/yr for full I.B. when there's only one course that will actually help you with university credits? And if it is, does anyone know an HL that's good for university?)

Edited by JamesJ

Hey there!

That sounds like a bad situation indeed.. 

First off, let me answer the last question first, as it seems to be the most important issue here. Simply put, no subject is particularly good or bad for university. It all depends on what degree you'd like to pursue, and what requirements that degree has. If you want to become a doctor, for instance, the science subjects are definitely go-to subjects for you. If you want to become a politician, social sciences is the way to go. If you want to work with something international, languages are beneficial. It all depends on what you want to do later on in life, and since no one here knows you (perhaps except of one or two friends), no one can answer that question unless you tell us what degree and where you want to study.