Hey all,

I am an IB Junior this year (In the US), so this is my first year in DP. This is also the first year that my school is offering IB Music SL. It's pretty sweet, but because my school administration is the worst administration on the planet, we can only actually meet once a week during lunch. :| Because of that we're not allowed to choose what we wanna do for our IA. I really wanted to do composition, but there's not gonna be enough teaching hours so we have to do solo performance. 

Bottom line, anyone have any tips for how to do good in IB Music, especially since we're not gonna be able to actually go to the class except for once  a week? Any good music theory books that will help me prep for exams? I play the violin by the way.

I am so sorry that your administration is doing this to you. That is practically a crime against humanity. There are a couple of things that have been really helping me out this year in IB Music SL and that has been knowing all of my scales, arpeggios, and broken/stepwise thirds and having a solid background in piano. I'm a saxophonist who has had scales/arpeggios/thirds drilled into me since freshman year (senior year now) especially through jazz (ii-V-I chord progressions are everything). The main thing is know your scales. I cannot emphasize enough how vital scales are. The people in my class who are struggling are kids that don't know their scales backwards, forwards, and in all three minors. Arpeggios, thirds, piano, and jazz theory are nice bonuses if you have the time, but if you don't, then you must at least do scales. If you do have some time for jazz theory, get the Abersold ii-V-I book. It has that chord progression in every key and is the reason I can make chords without even thinking about it. But that's a nice extra. Scales first. You can do this.

• 1 month later...