Please help! Which math class?

gabby-mae

I'm a pre-IB freshman, and I am taking Algebra II H, and we are figuring out our math classes for sophomore year. I don't know if this is in every IB school, but in order to take Math SL or HL in Junior and Senior years, you must take Geometry H/Trig IB or Math Analysis/Trig IB in sophomore year. If you take Geometry H IB in sophomore year, you must go into Math Studies in Junior and Senior year, no question. This really worries me, because in order for me to take Geometry H/Trig IB it is suggested that I have a high B (over 85%). Sadly, this 1st Semester I got a C average. (1st Quarter: 79.8% 2nd Quarter: 83.4% Semester Exam: C). My teacher and counselor suggest that I take Geometry H in sophomore year, but I don't want to AT ALL! I will be forced to go into Math Studies, which I heard is looked down upon by colleges and is completely a joke. Though I am struggling with Algebra II a bit, I would much rather take Geometry H/Trig IB (which will definitely be difficult for me), and challenge myself by taking Math SL in junior and senior year. Please help!  Do you think I should do everything I can do get into Geometry H/Trig IB, or just go with my teacher's suggestion and take Geometry H? I apologize, this must all sound very confusing.

Edited by gabby-mae

i don't understand your weird american math levels???? can't you just have maths and everyone takes maths I've got no clue what classes you're talking about

anyway if your going into a maths or science course in uni then you're probably going to need math sl+ but if you're going into a humanities course then math studies is accepted at almost all universities i think. consider what you'd like to do, how you'd like to get there and then wager in the importance of a higher math level