Kinematics Integration Question

IbTrojan

I'm studying for my math test and there's this one question I'm just not getting. 

A particle moves along a horizontal line with velocity given by v(t) = 2t^2 - 11t +12 where t is greater than or equal to zero. 

Find the total distance the particle travels from time 2 seconds to time 5 seconds.

The question also asks to find acceleration and "a" and "b" if the particle is moving left for a<t<b. Both of which I have figured out. It's just the total distance I can't figure out. We've done other problems in class and I figured them out. My teacher said just to graph it and write out an expression based on the graph and I tried doing that but...I'm getting a really weird negative number :S 

Help would very much be appreciated, thank you!

I'm studying for my math test and there's this one question I'm just not getting. 

A particle moves along a horizontal line with velocity given by v(t) = 2t^2 - 11t +12 where t is greater than or equal to zero. 

Find the total distance the particle travels from time 2 seconds to time 5 seconds.

The question also asks to find acceleration and "a" and "b" if the particle is moving left for a<t<b. Both of which I have figured out. It's just the total distance I can't figure out. We've done other problems in class and I figured them out. My teacher said just to graph it and write out an expression based on the graph and I tried doing that but...I'm getting a really weird negative number :S

Help would very much be appreciated, thank you!

Here is the theory about how to solve for the distance (i.e. areas under the velocity-time graph) that you've probably learned from the textbook:

post-115475-0-44785500-1424656402_thumb.

I don't really know whether this is a calculator or a non-cal question, so i'll solve using both

Non-Cal (corresponding to Case 2 Method 1 in the theory):