Sciences IB Certificates?

anonymous

hi guys, so im gonna start off by saying that my school doesn't offer AP, and only IB. I want to apply at UBC for a bachelor in science and then try to get into med school. However I don't think I want to do full IB. Although I'm a straight -A student,I don't want to spend my last 2 high school years drowning in school work, and I have a lot if extracurriculars that I want to do. So I was thinking about only doing IB in science related courses. This is how my grade 11 schedule would look like:

IB Chemistry HL

IB Biology HL

IB Physics SL

French 11

Math Pre-Cal 11 Ch

Psychology

English

Spare

I was planning to do in social studies 11 in the summer so I can get it out of the way.

However, do you guys think this is a good idea?

My school doesn't offer Physics HL, and I'm not good at Physics anyway, so it doesn't really matter

I can also take up to 4 certificate classes, so would I benefit if I took an English HL class, to help write essays and such in university?

Which do you think a uni will prefer: Getting low 90's -high 80's in IB sciences, or getting high 90's in normal classes?

Thanks guys!

1) UBC will obviously prefer higher grades. Doing IB/AP is almost always insignificant when it comes to university admissions. IB does, however, reward you with nice grade conversions at the end of the year. 

2) IB maths is another good option if you want to go into Sciences. English is a very versatile option too. Good writing skills is an asset wherever you go. 

3) If you want to take all three sciences and get your diploma, you'll have to overload and take seven courses (at least 3 at HL). That may or may not be a challenge for you.

• Like 1