Course Selection Advice

kevin8715

Hi,

I am a sophomore at GHCHS, Granda Hills Charters High School. I am already decided on doing IB, and mostly set on what classes I am taking for Ib next year, mostly. So far:

• HL Math
  • HL History of Americas
  • HL Biology
  • HL English
  • HL Spanish B or SL Italian B
  • 6th option, don't know

Haven't really decided on my 6th option yet. I was considering a visual arts which I still need for my A-G college requirements, but only one year so probably over the summer. Though not this summer since I am already going to take geometry and half of PE (long story about). 

About the language. I am a native Spanish speaker, and am taking Spanish 3 right now. However, I honestly wanted to take Italian originally but in my freshmen year, schedule conflicts didn't allow me to. I made a deal with my parents, take the AP Spanish Language test this year by self studying and if I pass it I can switch to Italian. Considering I have no previous experience in Italian, I have taken the initiative to prepare for next year by self studying Italian for the past week by using Rosetta Stone, duolingo app, and listening to Italian music. There is an Italian singer who sings in both Spanish and Italian, so I been going back and forth between the language versions of her songs. 

So yeah. That's is my situation. What do you guys think? Doable, especially the language one? I currently am taking two APs this year, World History and Chem. Also, half an AP, H Math analysis/ AP Calc A.  Last semester I got A's in all my classes except H English. If I take HL Spanish, I will drop one my other HL, probably history if they don't allow me to take 5 HLs.

Is 5 HL's possible?

Sorry for the long post.

-Kevin

Yeah, apparently you can take 7 courses and a max of 4 HLs but 5 HLs would actually not allow you to sleep or eat. So it's not possible. 

Maybe choose SL Italian and switch History to SL? So it's a little more balanced?