Business and Management?

Hello everyone!

I am currently in my first year in IB, and I have just signed up for classes for next year. I have chosen IB Business and Management as my required IB elective. I chose this because it is unlike anything I have ever tried, and I think it would be something I might enjoy. My question is: what do I need to expect for this class? How heavy is the course load? Is it a particularly challenging class? Are the IA's extremely difficult? Does it have a heavy emphasis on math?

I ask all of this because I really don't know what I got myself into. Any information would be greatly appreciated! I think it will be an interesting class to take, but I really don't know what to expect.

Thank you!

• Like 1

• 2 weeks later...

Hey, 

I'd be happy to give you some insight. I'm currently doing a repeat year so I've taken Economics last year and I'm currently taking Business Management this year.

The course overall is MUCH easier than Economics (in my opinion at least) because it's quite common sense, it's logical and you can think of the answers to the questions without putting in too much effort to theorise.

All you really need to do is know the terms, the exam technique and you're all good. I personally love the subject, I really wish i'd taken this last year.

I'm currently doing my IA which is worth 25% of the course the rest is just revision really not too much and not too intensive.. it's good that in business there's less math because I really suffer from econ HL's paper 3 which is literally FULL ON MATHS