Should I take Further Mathematics?

rachel12k

I'm a freshman currently and I'm taking Precalculus Honors. I have an A in the class, so I'm doing pretty ok in the class. I'm planning to take AP Calculus BC next year (sophomore year) and take HL 2 my junior year, then take Further Mathematics my senior year. If any of you guys are taking Further Maths this year or have taken it in the past, what would your advice be? The only thing is, I've honestly never really considered myself to be a mathematical person, and I'm interested in pursuing a career in law in the future. Any comments are welcome! Thanks in advance :)

Edited by rachel12k

I was in a similar experience as you. I took AP Biology and AP Chemistry my freshman year, but I never really considered myself a science person. When I scored 5s on both of the tests, I still wasn't feeling very confident about science. As a result, I decided to pursue English instead and I've never looked back. Just reading your post, I can tell you that you'll really struggle if you continue taking those math classes. I would recommend Math Studies since you have a good chance at succeeding there and you'll have more time to pursue a career of law. You should stick with math studies for both junior and senior year and perhaps wait until college if you still want to take more math classes.  ;)

• Like 1