Ecos HL or History HL (and help!)

tim9800
Go to solution Solved by Arrowhead,

Hello everyone - unsociable, insignificant year 10 IB student here, with minimal knowledge about the IB

My subjects:

English HL

Latin SL (Yes its a dead language go ahead and laugh)

History HL

Physics SL

Maths HL

Chemistry HL

and Christian Studies, which is compulsory at my school

I have four HLs because our school wants the new batch of kids here to start off with more, then most likely drop in second year IB

Anyways, I've already submitted my subject selections to the school, and now I'm beginning to regret choosing History HL, upon consultation of ancient Ibsurivival and boredofstudies articles and friends. From the articles I've read, Economics in general is an easier subject than History, to a slight extent. The thing is, I did Ecos in year 9 and realised it was quite boring, and I've been doing compulsory history for 4 years now. Neither subject is quite appealing to me, despite getting very decent grades in both (A- or better)

In addition, Ecos seems to have a greater relevance to job opportunities, so is it worth it?

Also, if I'm not breaking any forum rules by posting two things in one, how difficult is CAS considering I do a sport and play an instrument? (i.e. how much time should I spend piano practising, playing sport, and doing service a week?) I've also heard something about CAS projects which need you to combine two elements in CAS - what's that?

Thanks in advance to any repliers.

• Solution

To answer your second concern about CAS, playing a sport and the piano should be enough. The CAS project is something that students do that combines more than one CAS component throughout the two years of the IB. I wouldn't worry about this at all, your IB Coordinator will explain this (and a multitude of other things) to you in exhaustive detail when the time comes, and then over and over again.