History research question too broad?

theprocrastinator

I think that it a good place to start. By doing (more) research you may find that your question need to be altered.

I am not an expert on WWII but I do think that tying to account for all of the causes will be too difficult in 4000 words. You might consider looking at the political, military, or economic benefits (pick one cause and focusing on it) of invading Norway in 1940.

Hey there,

The above poster says that it is a good place to start. I agree to that. However, your RQ does need change at some point.

First of all, your current RQ doesn't allow for any analysis whatsoever. In order to answer that question, you can just list the factors in bullet points and you're done. The outcome will essentially be a descriptive essay, not an analytical one. It should be the other way around. Instead, especially within the realm of history, you might want to consider questions starting with 'to what extent' or something like that. In order to answer those types of questions, you need to be at least somewhat analytical, although that does not directly lead to perfect analysis in and by itself.

Now, more closely tied with the substance of your topic. What kind of new information can you provide within those 4000 words?