Maths EE Tweaking the topic/research question

Yousaf05

Greetings People,

I would appreciate some help with my Maths EE that I am just beginning to start. I have sort of built upon a topic and my advisor says it can be evaluated using deep mathematics integration and would be nice choice. I personally have a passion for Maths and Physics so I thought of doing something that combines both the subject areas.

I am thinking of mathematically proving man running at speed of light under certain or limited circumstances inside a particle accelerator. I am currently reading up on Special Relativity in advance. My advisor has told me to learn calculus all by myself to have a greater complicated mathematical approach but an understanding good enough to explain it to a 5 year old (quoting Einstein).

I am in Maths SL (Year 1) at the moment as I changed my school to a boarding school with IB for the first time and it's been hard at start so the HL Maths teacher advised me to change to SL which would be better considering my conditions. I plan to take HL Physics next year though. 

Please give some advice on my topic/research question as in terms of how should I make it specific and/or if it's a good enough topic to be evaluated mathematically!

Hi,

First of all, an EE in maths - wow! You're one of the rare people who choose this. Anyways, I see you've taken math SL. Why? I know IB doesn't mention this, but doing your EE in a subject you've taken at HL makes it that much easier. I'm not discouraging you to do your EE in math, but you'll have to learn more things yourself (unless your teacher is really really helpful, in which case you're really lucky). Also, its really tough to score high in math EE. Just stating the statistics. But since you decided on this subject, you must already know that.