Hello everyone,

I'm currently a sophomore investigating the difference between the IB Diploma and AP courses and my started the IB Diploma this past year.  I live in a urban area and there has been a lot of hype towards the IB at my school and considering it's new there is a lot of pros and cons towards the programme. 

Pros:

- The UC's (University of California) award 30 units if the candidate gets a 30 out of 45 in the program's exams

- Good preparation of college apparently

- More rigorous than AP

- Develops critical thinking skills

- Saves money on tuition

Cons:

- Workload is high

- Very time consuming

- Apparently it's viewed the same as AP

- GPA might drop

I mean there are some 'junior' friends that went the AP route and all of a sudden told me not to do it because friends will be separated and then I have to sacrifice a lot of things. Well I found out most of my friends are gonna do the program. But I'm not doing it because of friends, I want to research before I make a decision and clearly that is my situation at this point. But however as I analyze it, the exams are way impacted and are FRQ-based like AP. I want to major in Political Science and TOK might help in terms of the logic and philosophical values but I'm also hearing that you might be behind in college but apparently prepares you for that college experience. I went to the sophomore slump phase this year and it was a really agonizing matter to go through. But however I want to find answers if it's right for me:

Here is what my school offers (and we have a block schedule: 4 periods this day, 4 periods that day)

Group 1 – Studies in language and literature

IB English HL1 + IB English HL2 (senior year)

Group 2 – Language acquisition

IB Spanish HL or SL 1  >   IB Spanish HL or SL 2

Group 3 – Individuals and societies

AP Psychology (junior year) -> IB Psychology HL 2 

Group 4 – Sciences

AP Chemistry -> IB Chemistry SL

AP Physics -> IB Physics SL

Group 5 –  Mathematics