Enigma Machine IA

Hi everyone!

So i am currently studying math HL considering a math ia doing the enigma machine, since i am quite interested in cryptanalysis. But the more i research, the more i feel uncomfortable with it.

Firstly i fear theres not much math going on in enigma machine, allow me to briefly talk about how the Enigma works. So theres this plug board connection 10 pairs of letters and leave the six of them be themselves (E.g. A connected to C and inversely C is connected to A. If B is not connected to anything it would just be itself B). And then theres three rotors to the resulted letter to go (in the case of A to C, C would goes into rotors). These rotors changes as a letter is pressed. And eventually after passing the rotors the resulted later (lets say B) goes back to the plugboard and gets B (as B is not connected to anything.) So whole encryption would be A-->C-->B-->B.

I heard a lot of people suggesting this topic. They say I could re work out how alan turning broke the code back then (since for enigma what u type in can't be what u get eventually, e.g. if u type in T u can't get T as the encrypted message). So we can do some eliminations and work out settings. But theres two problems, one is its extremely time consuming working on hand. Secondly is about originality, i fear that if i follow the way Alan worked my IA would become a report instead of exploration. I always fear that no graphs can be plotted.

Any suggestions for math elements i should be doing for the Enigma Machine? Probability? 

Here is a link to how enigma works 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=2&v=G2_Q9FoD-oQ

and the flaw in enigma 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V4V2bpZlqx8

Thanks!