Mandarin B SL or Spanish AB Initio

Wolfie

Hello, as of right now I am taking Mandarin B SL in the IB diploma and I am in my first year of IB. I have taken Mandarin in international schools for about 5 years passing with mostly As. As I started my first year of IB and in my first few classes, I felt extremely out of place as many students were extremely capable in the language and throughout most of the text that we studied I literally knew nothing. I did not understand most of the questions and/or full texts, even though I haven't taken a test yet, I feel like I might be extremely horrible in the subject. On the other hand there is Spanish AB initio, which I have no prior knowledge in and am just thinking about it, in case learning Chinese becomes too hard. I am looking for top colleges and I am wondering if colleges would look down upon taking Mandarin for such a long amount of time and then dropping it. Or does it matter? Languages are not going to play a role in my college as I want to study sciences. I would like to know if I should persevere in the subject although I may not get a good grade or take Spanish AB which probably would be easier but I am not quite sure. 

• 3 months later...

Hi there!

I speak both English and Cantonese (with English being my first language) and I still find Mandarin B SL very hard! (NB: Cantonese is a dialect spoken in China) 
The only reason which I think I am just getting by is because the structures and (some) words are both very similar in Cantonese and Mandarin. I find reading particularly hard, and even my parents were taken back after seeing my paper 1 mock papers. 
I have heard that the reason why Mandarin B can be hard is because students who take it are mostly from a Mandarin speaking background or migrated at a young age- examiners/whoever makes the papers then makes it harder in order to make it fair.