IBDP This Year

sselinokcu

Hey guys, 

So my IBDP programme starts this year, after the summer break which I have 15 or so days of. My classes are Math, English, Econ HL and Bio, Turkish Lit, History SL. I'm also going to take my SAT this year. Are there any suggestions for me, just general stuff regarding next year? Because it's my first year in IB, I really don't know what to prep myself for and what to expect (except that this year is going to be hell)

Thanks

I'm right there with you! I began this year too just two months back and the work is already piling up. Things I've learnt so far:

1.  Keep perfectly calm - seriously though, I've had about five mini panic attacks in the past month itself, so this is crucial.
  2. I finally understood the repeated advice saying "DON'T PROCRASTINATE".what i said about work piling up?...yeah.
  3. Don;t let your social life die, unless like me you have none to begin with ><.....make friends in each class you have even if just to have someone you can take missed notes from.
  4. I'm gonna take the SAT too, and the fact that i have to juggle all this is making me doubt myself...Don't do that. Chill, it'll work out.
  5. give equal focus on your IA'S, IOP AND IOC'S..they are really important.
  6. I'm saying don't let it get to you but at the same time, don't take it TOO easy yeah?

........That's all i can think of for now.  I hope i was of even a little help. :D

All the best!

Meh, it all kind of depends on how you're doing right now and how well you're able to adapt.

Just to put this into perspective, I had a level of about 60% absence in the Pre-IB due to mental health issues, and then ended up changing to a different school for a month or two, before dropping out for two months. I ended up failing all my classes except History. (I was a good student when I came to class, but I just missed a lot)