IB sucject choices

NadinaCastro

Hi, 

I am currently studying the IB diploma program and am not 100% happy with my choices. Since I am not too sure what I want to study in university I want to keep my doors as open as possible, right now I think I would like to study an English course at a university in London, maybe at UCL or King's College London. When I first chose my IB subjects I thought I would want to study psychology so I chose HL chemistry and biology but seeing that I had do drop down chemistry and am currently struggling and hating biology I decided not to aim to study such a science based course. Currently, I am studying the following subjects:

English A HL Literature

Spanish A SL

Business HL

Biology HL

Mathematics SL

Theatre HL

I am aiming to achieve a score higher that 39 points by the end of the second year. My questions are the following:

I am currently hating business and am not happy with my classmates or the teacher but i do not hate the course itself since I was thinking of studying English at university and I have always loved the subject, should it be better if I swapped over to history higher level? Would this change make it harder for me to achieve my aimed IB points?

If I did swap to history HL, since this is a harder subject, would dropping Biology to SL make my IB too weak? Would it close many doors for university? 

Thank youu x

Edited by NadinaCastro

Hmm, the first thing imo is to talk with your DP coordinator and see for how long subject and level changes can remain flexible.

I've made a total of 2 subject level changes and one subject change since I started the DP, all of which I was allowed to make even during Term 4 of DP1, since my grade level's pretty small and so there's flexibility.

Right now, I also wanted to open as many doors as possible, hence my taking Biology & Chemistry HL in case I want to go science, but also Economics HL for a business-related major (the latter being the one I'm preferring now).