Law school

JackieDee

Hi I'm in my final year of IB and am about to send out my applications to universities to study law.

I have good predicted grades (43/45) and am planning to apply to King's College, Queen Mary, SOAS, Birkbeck and New College of the Humanities.

We had a barrister come to our school recently and talk to us about the difficulties in gaining access to the profession and how there is a lot of stiff competition.  He said that grades mattered most, but there would always be some places that looked down on you if you didn't go to Oxbridge.

I want to become a solicitor and work at a law firm after completing my law degree, to the best of your knowledge, would a degree from one of these colleges hinder my chances of being a competitive applicant to good law firms?

I know I have the predicted grades to apply to Oxbridge, but due to a combination of reasons (family issues that make leaving London difficult and poor GCSE grades), I am not applying to Oxbridge.

Any advice would be welcome!

Thank you!

28 minutes ago, JackieDee said:

Hi I'm in my final year of IB and am about to send out my applications to universities to study law.

I have good predicted grades (43/45) and am planning to apply to King's College, Queen Mary, SOAS, Birkbeck and New College of the Humanities.

We had a barrister come to our school recently and talk to us about the difficulties in gaining access to the profession and how there is a lot of stiff competition.  He said that grades mattered most, but there would always be some places that looked down on you if you didn't go to Oxbridge.

I want to become a solicitor and work at a law firm after completing my law degree, to the best of your knowledge, would a degree from one of these colleges hinder my chances of being a competitive applicant to good law firms?