ESS IA

Nutella_lover

Guys is this a suitable topic for an ess ia 

I want to do an analysis of generation gap of energy consumption 

So ill look at age but by age i mean student vs teachers which would specify the generation gap and compare the results of the energy consumption they consume 

And my hypothesis would be that the older generation which is the teachers consume more energy then younger ones because the younger generation is more aware by social media 

Someone please guide me :) 

• 3 weeks later...

Hello I think this is a great topic!!

How would you collect the data though? Would you do a survey around your school? And also would you have to randomize which students you pick and ask?

Also. I am an IB student and had a few questions regarding your IA.

Your IA doesn't sound like an experiment but more of a research project. I'm thinking of also doing a research project. For the report when you have to list your methods, what would you list? Would you describe the process of surveying people?
THANK YOU SO MUCH

Well depends if you think the kids at your school would reply to a survey sent online for example survey monkey then go ahead and sent it out or if not just print the surveys out and go around asking people to fill it out then and there. And in your method just state it as random sampling method. 

Yes describe the process of surveying people. For the methods I just list all the questions im going to ask in my survey and example you could also state 1) distributed survey through school email.  Things like that..

Hope this helps.

Btw what are you doing yours on?

@Nutella_lover OKAY Thank you so much! But yea i dont think i can truly randomize mine since I need data from every country in the world. I simply dont have the means of communication to randomly survey people from every country. So i'm trying to reach out to kids at my school with relatives out of the US.