Predicted grades importance

matbla

Hey, I have a question about predicted grades importance- namely if I get a predicted 5 from my English Lang Lit course and I believe that I can score higher at the final exam (6, I guess) how does it affect the university admission? Is it based only on the predicted grades or on the final grades as well? I am afraid that my teacher doesn't like me and it makes me worried about my uni choice...

I am still an IB 1 student so it is only a kind of prophesy but I have this feeling that she (the teacher) isn't impressed with my language skills :Pso...

P.S. If something isn't clear, say it, as I am kind of exhausted and usually if i am so, the coherency and quality of my writing can be doubted ;)

You didn't specify what country you're applying to, but for UK universities, it's based on your predicted grades and the final ones. In some instances, you may get an unconditional offer and in those cases, it doesn't matter what you grade you receive on your finals, you'll still be accepted to their university based on your predicted grades. American universities rarely give conditional offers and it's typically based on ACT/SAT scores and your predicted grades and your extracurriculars and a range of other factors.

I see that you're Polish, and I can't comment on Polish universites, unfortunately. But, predicted grades do matter - some students even argue that they're as important as your final ones or even more so.

It's really only important if the schools you're applying to require them e.g. UK universities, most US/Canada universities, and probably Asian universities (not too sure about the last bit) 

Some of my friends are applying to US schools that don't even ask for predicted grades e.g. University of Minnesota, so for some people it actually won't matter what their predicted grades are.