Chemistry Options

Aquilina

Hi :-)

I am a very passionate amateur chemist and I want to know if I could do all 4 options of chemistry and learn some further org chem. It's pretty like further math, where you study 4 options of math and some further geometry and algebra. I am the only HL student in my grade along with 2 SL students and I think my teacher could spend lots of time on us. So I am wondering if this is possible. 

Further Org Chem is an old syllabus option topic that's pretty much current syllabus organic chem lol aside from stuff like elimination, advanced polymerization, and some other stuff

There's no "further chemistry" kind of subject as there is for maths. probably since there's nothing really much more complex in doing that or the other options. feel free to study all 4 options but you could probably be spending the time on your other subjects instead. And like the above poster said, you're only going to be marked on one option. If you feel like you really want to study more chemistry, at least study the ones that's going to be relevant for the field of chemistry you intend on studying at uni e.g. study medicinal if u wanna go for pharmaceuticals or energy/materials if you want to go into applied chemistry.

Also honestly, unless you're in an anticipated HL Chemistry course, you'll be unlikely to have the time to cover all 4 options in class. And put yourself in your peers' shoes – are you sure they'd want to study so much more content that's not going to be relevant for their exams? Since they're only SL, I doubt they'll have as much motivation as you do. Moreover, your teacher would also probably be more concerned with completing the required course syllabus, as well as ensure that your IAs are up to scratch. Whatever kind of further studying you want to do you'd most likely have to do outside of class. 

Edited by IB`ez
  • Like 2

11 hours ago, Aquilina said:

Hi :-)