HELP - decision making

NadinaCastro

Hi :)

I am currently a D1 IB diploma student and I am not sure that I made the right decisions with my subject choices. I think that I am struggling too much with subjects that are not needed for the career that I want to study in university. I would like to study English (preferably English literature) in universities such as Durham, UCL or King's College London in the UK. These all ask for 38-35 points but I am aiming to achieve 42 points. My current subjects are the following:

English Literature A HL 

Spanish B SL (easiest subject since I am Spanish)

History HL (hardest subject for me since I don't feel passionate towards it and am considering either dropping to SL or changing to business)

Biology HL (tough but I love this subject and I really do not want to drop it)

Mathematics SL (really having a tough time with this one and am considering dropping to studies SL)

Theatre HL

For theatre, biology, spainsh and english I am 100% sure that I have made the right choice for me and with these subjects I know that I will be able to achieve 42 points but it's the other three that trouble me. Could you please give me your honest opinion and guidance on what I should drop or change in order to achieve 42 points and get into one of those universities to study English?

Thanks for your help! 

Your courses look fine and very oriented towards your intended major. However, HL History will take a massive chunk of time, or so I've heard. Also it's pretty hard to get a 7 in it, so this is maybe the only course you might want to change. I took ITGS HL and I highly recommend the course. It's pretty fun and isn't overly difficult, and doesn't need you to write as many papers or memorize as many dates and figures. It's not easy, but I think it's very manageable and an interesting course. Business is also a decent choice, but I don't recommend you dropping your group 3 subject to SL.