Math IA topic help? (SL)

jmarie

I'm currently a junior in high school, and technically am in honors PreCal, and will take AP Calculus/IB Math SL next year, but we're coming up with topics for our IA already, and I'm lost at where to go. Some topics I have in mind:

- Creating equations that model the spread of disease (I want to go into a career biology/medicine related) but I don't know what direction I would take with this kind of assignment...

- Sine graphs and modeling pitch/chords - really wanted to do this as I'm a musician as well, but I looked at an online example of this type of topic that did poorly and I am concerned I will not be able to explain and incorporate good deal of math to get a very high score...

- Something related to the Monty Hall problem also seems interesting, but it seems very statistics-based and while I am good at basic stat, I haven't covered many higher level stat-content in my classes.

Any help/suggestions is greatly appreciated!! While I have managed to maintain high A's this year in math, I have no idea how to expand upon what I what I want to do with my IA. The IB life is just starting to catch up to me. :(

What you can do is for each topic you come up with, make a 1-page summary of in detail of 1) how to approach the question 2) aspects of math involved (eg modelling, calculus, conditional probability, etc) 3) evaluating your math skills and devise a plan to score the highest mark. You should read appropriate sections in the Math SL guide (see below) for IA requirements.