How to write a Math Studies Internal Assesment

Jillian

Hi i'm new to this whole IB thing. My school started IB just last year so my class is the second to be going through it. Basically, my teachers are not all into IB yet, so they just tell us to write the essay and don't tell us how. Is there a template that can be used to write the math studies assessment because i know for the ITGS one we have to write Criterion A, B, C etc. So what are the titles for each section in this essay. I tried to use the Criterions they have is but it doesn't make sense to use it. My friend used Title, Statement of Task, research question, procedure, definition of variables, sample population, and then conclusion, but this does not seem very organized and the essay does not make much sense. Can someone help please?

• 2 years later...
  • 3 weeks later...

IB Math Studies Project Assessment Criteria

*from the mathematical studies SL: internal assessment-teacher support material from the IBO*

Criterion A: Introduction
Achievement level Descriptor
0 The student does not produce a clear statement of task.
1 The student produces a clear statement of the task.
2 The student produces a title, a clear statement of the task and a clear description of the plan.

Criterion B: Information/measurement
0 The student does not collect relevant information or generate relevant measurements.
1 The student collects relevant information or generates relevant measurements.
2 The relevant information collected, or set of measurements generated by the student, is organized in a form appropriate for analysis or is sufficient in both quality and quantity.
3 The relevant information collected, or set of measurements generated by the student, is organized in a form appropriate for analysis and is sufficient in both quality and quantity.

Criterion C: Mathematical Processes
0 The student does not attempt to carry out any mathematical processes.
1 The student carries out simple mathematical processes.