Diploma or Certificate for Ivy League?

ssansari

So I have not yet entered IB but will be doing so next year, and I have a few questions.

I am a very dedicated student and am willing to study hard, so workload is not too huge an issue. My dream school is Harvard Law. I want to know if Universities like Harvard really care whether you take the full diploma program or just go for the certificates. If i go for the certificates, I can easily do more extracirriculars, but I am planning on volunteering, doing Model UN, and possible tutoring either way. What would you recommend? What sort of a difference is there in the workload? Do universities even care if you DO take IB? I am very serious about law, and am willing to do anything to succeed. Note: I am in Canada. If in the program i would take:

ELA up to 30/35 HL

Up to Social Studies 30 HL

Up to Math 31 SL

Chem 35 HL

Bio 30 SL

TOK of course + CAS, Extended Essay etc.

French 30 (I dont think im good enough for 31)

if i take the certificates, I would probably drop LA and French

So please reply! :)

I hope you all did well on your exams

MIT's my dream school, so I've been dabbling into that somewhat.

There are two sides you should consider:

IB shows the big wigs (AKA ivy league schools) your work ethic and how hard a work load you can handle. We don't get credits for our IB classes, no matter how we do on exams. For MIT, there's a suicide class you have to take before or during your first semester, I believe. It talks about time management and balance and where you can get help, etc. However, IB students are exempt from this class because they figure we have an idea of what we're getting into with the coursework. I don't know that they offer the exemption to certificate holders.