Becoming a Doctor in Australia

andiewu

Hi I am an IB student in Hong Kong and is an Australian Citizen.

I want to apply to Australia Universities next year as an undergraduate local student.

I am confused with the system that Universities (which offer Medicine) operates.

Some universities offer MBBS as a postgraduate (Syndey) and some as undergraduate (UNSW) and some you have to study an undergraduate course in thier university before studying a postgraduate course in Medicine in their school.

I don't know which universities operates on which system. I mean in the third example, if i take a undergraduate course prior to a postgraduate Medical course, would i have to study for a longer duration as a result?

And also is there some ranking on the Medical Universities in Australia which i can refer to?

Thank you so much!

Regards,

Andy

Edit/Delete Message

From what I heard some universities offer 6 year medical degrees which is an undergraduate one (these have higher requirements for entry). Others such as Melbourne offer a 4 year post graduate degree (you would have to do a 3/4 year undergraduate degree before that making the total duration 7 or 8 years).

Some well ranked ones are Melbourne, Monash, UNSW, UQueensland.

well i'm situated in Brisbane so i'll give you a heads up on what i know about the uni's here

UQ: MBBS - 4 years fulltime

undergrad: year 12 provisional entry

selection criteria - UMAT, OP1 or equiv.

grad:

selection criteria - bachelor degree or higher w/ minimum GPA of 5, GAMSAT

MONASH: MBBS

undergrad - 5 years full time

selection criteria -(look at IB prereq below) , umat

IB prereq - eng and chem at a minimum of 5 at SL or 4 at HL

grad - 4 years full time

selection criteria - just says GAMSAT, interview :P

PM me if you want info for griffith uni as well, hope this will help you somehow :(