IB Mandarin SL

I am currently a sophomore and will be taking IB Mandarin SL next year. I actually only started Mandarin (the course was called Mandarin I) last year in my freshman year but since I displayed a higher-level of speaking and writing proficiency at the end of the year in comparison to the other students in my grade, they bumped me up to Mandarin III this year. I currently know how to write about 800 characters give or take, and can recognize about 1000. The book that we studied in Mandarin I and III follows the Yuan Dong publishing corp. from Taiwan. We also take supplementary grammar and vocabularies from the widely used Chinese Made Easy series as well for IB prep. So for those who are going to take IB Mandarin SL/ HL, how is your school preparing you? How well is your speaking in terms of fluency and aptitude to speak a conversation without having any grammatical errors etc,. ? And for those who are currently taking IB Mandarin, what do you guys think of it? What do you guys normally do in class and how exactly do you prepare for the exams? If you guys could provide me with any information regarding the class then that would be much appreciated-- Thanks!

Well, I Mandarin A so I wouldn't know. But I have friend who took a psuedo IB prep Ab Initio course at our school for 3 years and so the school won't let him continue to take Ab Initio but they still require all of us to take Mandarin. So right know he's taking Mandarin B SL and having an awful time. There is no way in heck he can be ready for the exams and the teacher just told him to guess for all the questions and I think he's hoping to just pass so he can eventually get a diploma.

I'm not sure how many characters he knows or whatever, but just letting you know.

Might want to be on the safe side and take an ab initio.