University of Sydney

Hi, I've never done this before -- gone on a discussion board before but I guess illgive it a try. My situation is complicated because I haven't been able to find answers. I'm an American student going into the IB programme in China. I go to an international American school. How can I get accepted into the faculty of medicine in USYD? How high must my scores on the final exams be?

Courses:

Biology HL

A1 English HL

Visual Arts HL

Chinese ab initio

Economics SL

Mathematics SL

any help will be great. USYD's website didn't assist me too much... :/

USYD has a very limited undergraduate med course which is highly competitive. In order to get in, you need to get an ATAR of 99.95 which is equivalent to 45 and even then you need to do an interview as well and I think it is even harder for non-australians.

Also, for presumed knowledge they have Maths extension 1 for most medical degrees, Maths SL is nearly equivalent to this but you might need to do some more. It is strongly recommended that you take Chemistry (up until recently chem was a pre-requisite), AFAIK no courses have pre-requisites but it is very recommended and you would have to take a bridging course anyway, so I think it is important that you take chemistry (possibly instead of art?).

UNSW which is another good university in Sydney has an undergraduate medical program which is easier to get into, but you need to do the UMAT test and I don't know if non-australians can do this.

In Australia there are very few undergraduate medical courses and they are extremely difficult to get into, so be prepared to work very hard and even then it might not be enough.

Alternatively, you could do an undergraduate degree in medical science or something which doesn't require such high marks and this sets up entry for a post-grad medical degree which is much easier to get into.