I need some encouragement.

Enox

I'm in my first year of IB.

To start off, I'm not a very well rounded student. I'm smart, but relatively lazy. I don't always do my work, but it's not because I just flat out don't want to do it. I actually have a strong desire to get good grades and I do know the level of effort I need to put forth in order to do that. I suffer from ADD and I am not professionally diagnosed with, but I show symptoms of moderate dyslexia. (I've taken a handful of tests.) My homework takes me 2-6+ hours to do as I cannot focus that easily. Any sound or intervening thoughts can throw me off easily. I don't feel like I have too much work, I just feel like it takes me too long. Right now, I'm sitting at 3 A's, 4 B's, and a D. I procrastinate too much... and every time I do, I say I won't do it again, and that I'll be smart and start early but when the time comes for me to be starting my work, I suddenly don't see the consequences are that bad anymore. (I hope that makes sense.) When I procrastinate, though, it's often because I'm dreading the fact that it will take too long to do.

My D is in History. History RIPS me to shreds. It's my most difficult subject. The homework takes the longest. I suck at analyzing things because I don't have a strong foundation of World and US history due to my lack of interest causing me to pay no attention. I almost failed one of my paper assessments. I DID fail this paper I wrote on a book... I am paying for it now and I really feel like I'm in SO deep a hole that theres no point in even trying. I haven't done most of my outlines because they take me 2-4 hours each and we have to do them every single day. On the other hand, I do like history when I can understand it. Thats the hard part, though. Currently, I have around 10 outlines I could turn in. They're all weighted 1s. I feel like the longer I wait, the more work keeps piling. It's a scary pile too, quite daunting.