Portfolio Type II -- Modelling a Functional Building

karlp

Hi. We got our first IA tasks in math HL last week, which is "Modelling a functional building" and I have a couple of questions about it. Since i have never done it before and our school isn't very experienced in IB yet, i figured i'd ask for help in here..

1) Is there a maximum word limit for the task and if yes, what is it? I have about 3000 words already and I think I have barely covered half the task.

I'm explaining everything quite thoroughly but I think all I write is quite relevant and without it it would be to superficial or hard to understand.

2) How much do you need to show your calculations? Do you need to show steb-by-step how you substitute, deduce and simplify everything? So far I have shown most of my calculations

3) If I were to create a table, do I need to show all the calculations of how I got the data in the table? It usually involves doing the same kind of calculations over and over many times. Is it correct to just write the results in the table? (E.g. when creating the table about the volumes, volume ratios and surface areas of the structure at different heights)

4) The third point in the assignment has "use technology to investigate how changes to the height of the structure affect the dimensions of the largest possible cuboid." Could you assume, what kind of technology do they expect I use. I have figured out a way how to show the effects algebraically with calculations but I don't know about the technology. Is is considered sufficient use of technology if I compare different heights and their cuboid dimensions in a table and plot some graphs on them?

5) It is probably useful in this task to also include 3D graphs of the structure. Can you suggest any good programs that would do this kind of job?

6) Do you know if there are any sample modelling works up on the internet? that would help me a lot in getting the format and everything. I tried google but without much success.