On IB Moderation

Daedalus

2.In other words, for your World Lit, IOC, Science Lab Reports, and so on, your teacher sends out a "representative" sample

These components are all externally assessed regardless of the number of students in the class.

• Extended essay
  • Theory of knowledge essay
  • Language A1 world literature
  • Language A1 school supported self-taught oral examination audio recording
  • Language A2 written task
  • Music: Musical investigation
  • Theatre practical performance proposals and research investigations

The rest are called internal assessments (these are marked by your teacher and examiners moderate their marks) such as science lab reports, mathematics portfolios etc.

3.The size of this sample depends on the number of students in your class (I think - this is the one point that needs confirming)

This is indeed true. However, to be more precise:

Students in a class:

• <= 5: all works
  • 6-20: 5 candidates' works
  • 21-40: 8 candidates' works
  • >=41: 10 candidates' works

• Like 4

I'm not sure that the one's chosen for moderation are the best, the worst, the median etc.; In my history class (9 people) my IA had the highest mark and was one of the 4 not chosen for moderation (i'm pretty sure the bottom mark wasn't chosen either). My teacher said she just entered the marks onto a computer and it chose 5, but i'm unsure of the process that they use to choose them.

Yeah it's not that the highest always get chosen for moderation from what I've gathered. In psych, the one with the highest wasn't chosen...the lowest was and a couple of near top ones and then some more lower ones. And I had the highest bio IA and I'm pretty sure I wasn't chosen. My guess is that they choose 'randomly' (computer or something) from each quartile. Like maybe a random one from each quartile and then one more from any depending on sample size or repeat that process??? Who knows :D