Harry Potter EE in Psychology topic help?

myreeka

Heyo. My subject for the extended essay is psychology, and I really want to do something about Harry Potter. I was thinking about writing about psychological disorders exhibited by the characters of the series. Would this be an appropriate topic? I've read in some places that you actually have to be proving something within the body of the extended essay. Is this true, and if it is, would I still be able to do an essay on this topic? Thanks for all your help!

HP is 1. massively overdone in EEs 2. a work of fiction 3. a world of magic 4. unlikely, therefore, to yield valuable psychological insights .. plus i think you are supposed to do an experiment/collect data for psych. I'm no expert on this so don't take anything i write too seriously but I would seriously counsel you against it.

HP is 1. massively overdone in EEs 2. a work of fiction 3. a world of magic 4. unlikely, therefore, to yield valuable psychological insights .. plus i think you are supposed to do an experiment/collect data for psych. I'm no expert on this so don't take anything i write too seriously but I would seriously counsel you against it.

I understand that it is a fictional work, but the characters within it are intended to be completely human. I've looked up Harry Potter extended essays and found most of them to be either comparing the series to another, such as Lord of the Rings, or analyzing the use of mythology in the books. And in terms of collecting data, would the symptoms exhibited by a character be data to support a theory that the character has a disorder?

For example, could my research question be "To what extent to the characters of the Harry Potter series display evidence of psychological disorders?"

Well, that sounds lame even to me. But I really like Harry Potter! And I've already locked in my subject of Psychology, and can't think of anything else.

Edited by myreeka