NaNoWriMo

Pwhdavey

Hey,

For those of you who don't know 2008 is my first year in IB. Since age seven I've been an avid creative writer, and since last year I've been getting the urge to write something more than a few pages which is what I call a short story. A plot has been brewing in my head for some time now and I have to get it out of my system - if you're a prolific writer like me you'll know what I mean. So I want to start a novella... just when to do it is the problem.

I recently discovered NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) and I have been instantly hooked (http://www.nanowrimo.org/). Read all about it if you don't know and you're interested. But all who already understand how it works, could you tell me if it is possible to do this whilst studying IB?

My exams are next year... not this. Which is one consolation as I sure as heck won't be doing NaNo next year. But it'd be fun to do it during school... I don't know. Reckon I should at least consider this for November? Do bear in mind I'm very keen! :)

Sorry if this is in the wrong forum... I searched NaNoWriMo here and found several results in some "Writer's Corner" but it wasn't really related to my question. And who knows, this could be helpful to more people...

Hmm... One thing for sure is that it would top my Creativity. But I'm not sure if the IBC would encourage me or not... because I would want to get to 50K. This is my sort of thing and it would be good to do it during school. Good luck with your future NaNo's HMS, and appreciate any more feedback someone has to offer. :)

• 1 year later...

I did it last year, and I figured that I'd do it this year as well. I realise that it's probably equivalent to IB suicide, but my EE is pretty much done, my grades are fine, my university applications have been sent off, and if anything major comes up, of course I'll put schoolwork first. And then not sleep to catch up on my wordcount. I'm kidding, I think...