Sign in to follow this  

Getting into a US university as an International IB student

Alright, so my ambition is it to go get accepted and go to a good US university. I am an International student in Poland and I haven't taken any SAT tests yet (I have tested myself 2 weeks ago and I got an overall 1550 - not good so i'll work on it more). I've been hearing all sorts of advantages about being International from fellow students and from a career advisor. But from my current American university research I feel quite negative about my ambition for the following reasons:

• A lot of universities (including University of Florida) don't give International students a scholarship, and if they do, then it is rather competitive
  • My school doesn't give GPA scores which all american universitites want
  • I get the impression that to get financial aid you have to be either super-poor&super-smart or super rich, and I am currently at 29 IB points with an A in TOK and my parents have average or a bit above average incomes and we are 5 people in a family and my parents simply don't want to pay for any university because I could go to a uni in the UK and simply take out a loan
  • I can't do the PSAT/NMSQT because i'm not American (grr)
  • Out-of-state must pay more than in-state students which further burdens me
  • Most of these international students are nerds who will probably get a higher score than me, so I have to compete against them... somehow
  • I can't do easy AP exams (for possible extra credit) since im in Europe
  • I don't know how to get a scholarship (i checked out www.fastweb.com but they give me a whole list of little (500 to 2000 dollars most of them) scholarship programmes and most of them are dodgy or reserved for Americans and are very competitive I think
  • I heared that International students are subject to harsher admission criterions than American students