French: How hard is it to get a 7?

I was just wondering how difficult it is to get a Level 7 in French B at SL.

I've been learning French for a few years now, about 6 years. I haven't done French for a year now (since I did it throughout MYP but not IB Year 1, and I have French in Year 2, so I would have to revise before Year 2 starts).

Is it relatively easy to get a 7 if you work hard and follow the teacher's guidance, or do you need to do stuff outside class (i.e. like reading French books in your spare time) to get a 7. How difficult is it?

Is there anyway to "ensure" that you will get a 7?

Any comments are appreciated.

Feel free to compare the difficult of French B SL with other subjects (i.e. like the ones I have below).

It is not too hard and not too easy either (in terms of the current syllabus). I, personally just made a good attempt, followed the teacher's guidance, and knew what IB expected on the exams very very well and was able to get my 7. One advice I can give you is to build a strong vocab base which will help you in both paper 1 and 2. In paper 2 know the markbands really well, incorporate some higher level of grammatical knowledge ( subjonctif etc.), some appropriate idiomatic phrases, and follow the structure required (letter, journal, etc). Knowing what you are up against in the exams and what is expected by a level 7 response from IB would be the best way to ensure your 7.

• Like 1

IBSL French is good as long as you have a good basis of vocabulary to put in your essay. Paper 1 is quite simple, it relies on comprehension solely and many many people get a 7 in it. Paper 2 on the other hand is graded a bit harsher. You need to impress the examiners by choosing a topic from 5 or 6 topics to write a 250 word essay on. You must know the correct formats of things such as a journal entry, a letter, etc. But just make sure you understand the rules of verb tenses and have a good basis of vocabulary and the 7 will be evident :) good luckk